And the Winner is . . .

MARK S. is our winner with his entry of “date palm.”  This shark-like tree trunk belongs to the Canary Date Palm.

Congratulations, Mark!  Your prize will be a brief, custom-written poem by the photographer himself, AinV.  The poem will be posted here soon, so please check back.

 

Seeing Things in a Different Light

How I see things in sobriety keeps changing.  If getting a “new pair of glasses” were taken literally, I would have drawers full of them.  During the last few years, I have seen all of my dreams come true.  Everything I could only imagine and hope for my whole life has materialized.  I see these developments much differently than I thought I would.  I am not clinging fearfully to the things I care about.  I am not always trying to protect them from someone who would steal them away.  Nor do I see great tidings as my just desserts, something I have earned above all other persons who strove for them.  I never imagined that I would simply view these wonderful results as opportunities for deeper service.  Rather than climbing to the summit and driving a stake in the snow, I have learned there is not much joy to be had in the lime light.  My new glasses help me see the need for constant humility, for a quiet heart, for an uncluttered mind.  I have not arrived in the Promised Land to pitch a tent or build a house.  I am here to reach out my hand in every direction.  The more joy and fortune that comes my way, the more I want to open up and freely share it.  Nothing belongs to me.  It intersects my crossing in this earthly plane.  I give thanks, claim no victory, and I wait for further instruction.

Photo Courtesy of Claude S
Photo Courtesy of Claude S