Deadly Sin Number Three

“Sloth (Latin, Socordia) can entail different vices. While sloth is sometimes defined as physical laziness, spiritual laziness is emphasized. . . . Sloth has also been defined as a failure to do things that one should do. By this definition, evil exists when good men fail to act. . . .  By the 17th century, the exact deadly sin referred to was believed to be the failure to utilize one’s talents and gifts.”  (Wikipedia).

The Big Book tells us to start with the Seven Deadly Sins when we seek to identify our character defects.  Most of us have not spent much time coveting other people’s donkeys, but can easily identify with the symptoms of sloth.  For me, the word “sloth” conjures up a banana slug, although slugs no doubt work very hard to get from point A to point B.  I also envision a teenage boy in his eighth hour of playing Call of Duty with soda cans, pizza boxes and many items of unwashed clothing strewn about this feet.

When I was drinking, I used to think of myself as very hard working.  I was quite put off at the statement in the 12 x 12 “And with genuine alarm at the prospect of work, we stay lazy.” (p.49).  Surely the plaques on my wall were tangible evidence that this could not be true.  Had I not been commended many times for all my “hard work”?  The truth I eventually came to learn was this:  there is a difference between “hard work” and mindful work done with respect and gratitude.  I was very good at furrowing my brow, hunching over the desk, forgetting to eat, and getting home late at night.  Work was a feverish attempt to clear away obligations so that I could quickly get to the desired state of non-work.  One of the great gifts of sobriety for me has been to learn how to work with a lot more heart and intelligence and a lot less flailing, fear and martyrdom.

No doubt sobriety and the Steps are work in every sense of the word.  Unlike mediocre work at the shop or office which might allow us to slide by and not be fired, “half measures availed us nothing” in AA.  Here is the first work that has called on me to be honest and thorough throughout.  There is a reason that a Newcomer might “balk” when looking forward to this painstaking work.  What is sloth, if not an “easier, softer way”?  Going through the motions in the Program will have us peddling our bicycle around the parking lot.  It will not gets us into the solution.  Learning how to properly work the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous, a job I will never complete, has taught me how to really work.  How to put my entire being into what I do.  Ironically, “easy does it” has been the only inspirational poster on the wall, and there is not a plaque in sight.  Just a coin in my pocket that I must take care not to drop.

Photo Courtesy of SMB
Photo Courtesy of SMB