Acceptance is a big part of my recovery – it is sandwiched between awareness and action.  For me it means that I quit living in the world of dreams and wishes, and that I have started to live in the real world of here and now.  I have learned to accept who I am, what I am and where I am.  Accepting the fact of my disease was the first step towards recovery.  It took a while, as I spent a lot of years in denial.  When I finally came to the rooms of A.A., I was desperate enough to be able to Keep Coming Back.  I came back again, and again; and eventually I began to hear others talk about their bouts with King Alcohol, and I began to understand what it means to be an alcoholic.  It was not what I drank, how much I drank, or when I drank – it was what happened when I drank, that defined me as an alcoholic.  Once started – impossible to stop.  It was only through the power of the God of my understanding that I came to know that there was help available, God was waiting in the wings for me to realize the magic of three simple words; “God help me.”
Being able to define my disease helped me tremendously.  Before A.A. I was so confused about what to call myself.  Alcoholic, addict, mentally or morally challenged,  or just plain perplexed.  I didn’t have any DUI’s – but when I drank I lost the ability to stop.  My behavior changed radically when I drank – did that mean that I had mental health issues?  There were so many questions initially – A.A. served to give me the answers I had been searching for.  All that was required of me, at the beginning, was an open mind and a willing heart.  God helped me out there; I brought my body and my mind followed.  I just needed to take the action – of getting to meetings, keeping an open mind, and accepting the fact that dependence on a Higher Power could and would change my life as nothing else had.  Once I accepted myself as an alcoholic, all else changed.  Today, God is still in charge of my life, I willingly and purposely seek His help, His counsel, and His love.
Photo Courtesy of AinV

Photo Courtesy of AinV

