I have found that my anger hurts me, and only causes me grief and turmoil – and usually it has little to no effect on the person I am angry with.  It does not benefit me, it harms me.  As a recovering alcoholic I can’t afford anger, I have learned to let my anger go, to give up my resentments and pray to my Higher Power that He remove them from me.  I was once quick to anger, and I can see today where that was nothing more than mere justification for my own poor behaviors.  I can’t begin to tell you how many times that the anger I was expressing was more about rationalizing my inappropriate actions towards others.
Thank God, and I mean that literally, that I no longer have to hold on to anger to justify my behavior.  Today I am not angry – most of the time.  I have learned to let go of the anger and resentments – I give them to God and release the negative thoughts and feelings that accompany them.  If I do get angry, I have learned to express it, and I have learned not to delay letting it go.  It only builds to an ugly degree which grows and grows the longer I hold on to it.  I try to put the anger into perspective and remember the important points of recovery – I am sober, I am living a better life because of recovery, and I have the tools of the Program plus a Higher Power, who always has my back.  From anger to gratitude – it’s a short distance!
Photo Courtesy of Tom S

Photo Courtesy of Tom S

