I love my sponsees, and I respect their efforts when it comes to sobriety.  Some are working hard and some are hardly working, lol.  I work to be there for them all, when they need me.  My sponsees come in all shapes and sizes; from the newly sober to those with multiple years in recovery.  Having sponsees works to keep me sober as I know that I serve as an example to them of what sobriety can look like.  And just like them, I am not perfect either – nor do I have all the answers.  I encourage them to use others in the Program, and I believe in the power of prayer.  I further believe that recovery is a group effort.
Sponsor/sponsee – this is a very special relationship between two people – it is a gift, and one that just keeps on giving from me to others, and also to me from others.  I call it a gift because it is a love without strings, without expectations, and without obligations.  I give what I can, and I receive what is made available to me.  I love each and every woman I have ever sponsored, they are each unique from the other, and yet so similar in their desire to be sober.  They teach me much, and never cease to amaze me.  Each day is a new beginning, each sponsee can become the person they desire, and each encounter with another alcoholic is yet an opportunity to learn, to grow, and to change.  Being a sponsor is a special responsibility that continues to teach me about self-less love, and that I am capable of loving others unconditionally. . . be they sober a day or a decade.  We are all in the same boat together, going down a river of love, sobriety, and gratitude.
Photo Courtesy of Tom S

Photo Courtesy of Tom S

