I knew I was in for a big change in my life when I was first new to the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous.  For one thing the people in the rooms of A.A. were so much more at peace with themselves and this disease we call alcoholism.  They seemed to have what I wanted; acceptance of themselves and an understanding of the disease that ruled my life for so many years.  The first thing I understood was that I had a multitude of things to learn, that I knew very little of my disease and my past behaviors.  This was going to take some time – the good news was that I had both time and the desire for change.

Change has become my ally.  I no longer dread change, today I know that acceptance of change is the first step towards becoming the person that I have always wanted to be.  I have changed my attitude, I have changed my understanding of the disease of alcoholism, I have changed my outlook on life, I have changed my belief about a Higher Power, whom I choose to call God, and I have changed my behaviors in many ways.  I’m still working on changing me, and will probably never get that job done – but as it is said in the Program; the joy is in the journey not the destination.  Change is the vehicle that compels me forward, away from the past and towards a better future.  A future that never would have occurred without the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous, and my Higher Power

Photography by Claude S

Photography by Claude S

