When I look back on my life I find that my dreams were really very common. I just wanted to “fit in,” to have what others have, to be “normal.” I never considered that I had within me the ability to accomplish my dreams. I just kept waiting for someone else to make my dreams come true. For a very long time I just accepted myself as being “un” normal; not necessarily “ab” normal, but definitely not normal. Change happens – all the time. I have changed since my early days of recovery. I don’t believe I had any dreams when I first arrived at the tables of A.A. I just wanted to find my way to living a life with some purpose, some direction. I wanted to stop the insanity – and I dreamed of being “normal.” Normal for me meant that I would stop hurting myself and others, it meant that I could “fit” into some form of a plan that did not involve booze. It was time for me to get to work, and that is exactly what I did, and now here years later, I am still at work. . . I have a life, I have purpose, I have dreams – dreams of seeing my grand daughter graduate high school, and dreams of being here for others – both family and friends.

While I follow the directions of the Program, and live in the here and now; I also have dreams of what I want my future to look like, and I work on a daily basis towards that dream.  I prepare for my tomorrows by working in the here and now of today. I may never be “Person of the Year” but I can certainly be the “Grandma of Today.” For that I am grateful that I can have a dream, a vision of the future, a peek into tomorrow – and I believe that I will find me just as I am today.

Photo Courtesy of MX

Photo Courtesy of MX

