I have learned to “listen” to my feelings, to pay attention to how I feel about events or things, not just what I know in my head to be “right,” but also what I know within my heart to be right for me.  I was quite sure that I could “out-think” the disease of alcoholism via means of “control.” I got pretty good at fooling myself and others. Even when I finally came to the rooms of A.A., I was not sure if I was in the right place for me. After attending a few meetings I became sure that I was right where I am supposed to be. It felt good to be among others who were searching for answers, as I was. It felt right that I should be at the tables, listening and hoping for my mind to finally be still, and at rest. I wanted the peace and joy I saw in others.

To NOT drink – means working the Program one day at a time, it also may mean lots and lots of meetings, it could also mean getting a Sponsor and working the 12 Steps – which is always encouraged. Prayer comes easily for some and for others it takes time to be comfortable communicating with the God of their understanding. Prayer invites God into my life and reminds me to live by God’s will, not my will. Prayer gives me an ally to rely on, and a friend whenever I may need one. Helping others comes in time and in a variety of ways, from one on one conversations with old timers and new comers; to sponsoring others, and serving as a “trusted servant,” to ensure the continuation of the Program. Wherever my service to the Fellowship takes me, I will continue to learn, to change and to grow in my own recovery – because I have learned to listen with both my brain and my heart.

PS: GO GIANTS…sorry. I’m an AVID Giants fan….next time DOC….WORLD SERIES HERE WE COME!!!

Photo Courtesy of M.K.

Photo Courtesy of M.K.

