There’s only one corner of the universe you can be certain of improving, and that’s your own self. So you have to begin there, not outside, not on other people. That comes afterward, when you’ve worked on your own corner.
–Aldous Huxley

I could not pass this quote up.  Sometimes I need to  follow my own advice.  I sponsor some women, and recently I find that what I encourage in others is the very thing lacking in my own program.  Thank goodness for the Steps as they afford me a source for growth and change, and a place to “work” from.  Each Step is related to a Spiritual Principle, and each Principle is related to my behavior.  Just working the first three Spiritual Principles of Honesty, Hope and Faith can change my behavior to a point of growth.  Above all else I need to constantly search for my honesty within.  Honesty in all things – not just pocketbook honesty, but emotional honesty, spiritual honesty, and honesty about my feelings, thoughts and actions.  This is not always an easy task for me, it is something that I constantly work on.
I cannot give away what I do not possess – if I want change in my sponsees I first have to find that change in myself.  Dear God please help me to achieve the changes that are needed within me, by means of the Spiritual Principles of Honesty, Hope and Faith.
24
