I’ve heard others in the Program talk about the “thousand forms of fear,” and still others who talk about the “unknown fears.”  I believe I have experienced both of these, and I think it comes from deep within me where my biggest fear lives, the fear of failing A.A.  I believe that as an alcoholic, should I choose to drink again, I have four choices: jails, institutions and death – that’s only three but there is a fourth that does not get mentioned, and it should be, that fourth choice is recovery.  “The achievement of freedom from fear is a lifetime undertaking, one that can never be wholly completed. . . Only the self-deceived will claim perfect freedom from fear.” (Grapevine, January 1962)  I had to learn to overcome my fears, or at the very least put them into a proper perspective.

I came to the rooms an unbeliever, it was simply “the last house on the block.”  I came looking for something, I didn’t even know what I was looking for, I just wanted out of the pain that had become my life.  I found so much more than I anticipated, and have truly come full circle from being an unbeliever to being “a child of God.”  I am one of God’s chosen ones, I am someone who continues to grow and change with the help of my God and the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous.  I have faith today, I believe in God today, and I believe in the Program of A.A. – I pray that I will always remain in “God’s everlasting arms.”

On another note…may the BEST team win!! GO GIANTS!!!

Highway 35, Woodside, CA

