Compulsivity and obsessive behaviors seem to be standards for me – before recovery. In recovery I am learning to control my behaviors – and therefore control my obsessive/compulsive behaviors. I have no doubt in my mind that I can succeed with the help of the Program and my Higher Power, God. It is much easier to do that with the help of friends in the Program, than it is to attempt by myself. I recognize my shortcomings and defects of character, and know that I will never be “perfect” when it comes to my “addictions.” I knew from a very early age that I was “addictive,” and therefore stayed away from drugs that I knew were addictive, as I seemed to know that it would be a losing battle. It helps when others talk about their issues relative to addiction, I can usually relate to their experiences and I learn much from them when it comes to the idea of “control.” I can recover from my addictions – all of them -by working the Steps, having faith in God, and believing that “in recovery, all things are possible.”

Photo Courtesy of MX

Photo Courtesy of MX

