I do not possess the right to ever tell others how they should choose to live.  As a sponsor to others the very best I can do is to relate what my experience was with whatever problem they may be facing.  This is especially true for members who also have mental health issues – the medication they are directed to use is not my business, at all.  My “job” as a sponsor is to work the Steps and Traditions with my sponsees.  The only “suggestion” I can give to others is to take whatever medication is prescribed for you, and to take it according to the instructions.  It’s not my place to judge that, or to even express an opinion on the subject.  Not only am I not a doctor, I possess little knowledge of medications in general, and specifically those medications that can alter behavior.
AA, as a Fellowship is designed to not participate in controversy, as it states in Tradition Ten:  “Alcoholics Anonymous has no opinion on outside issues; hence the A.A. name ought never be drawn into public controversy.”  We leave the “world” outside when we meet – we are not there to discuss who is winning the World Series, the politics of  the current Governor of the State, or the condition of the world as it relates to wars.  As it states in Tradition 5: “Each group has but one primary purpose – to carry its message to the alcoholic who still suffers.”  It is our goal, our aim, and our function, as a group.   My purpose, my aim, and my goal is to support this premise – and I encourage this each time I interact with another person in recovery, each time I represent the A.A. program, and each time I share my experience, strength and hope.
Photo Courtesy of Tom S

Photo Courtesy of Tom S

