For me, letting go means that I have processed whatever is on my mind and have come to the conclusion that I have done everything in my power to change the negative to a positive, and have arrived at a place that tells me that I can do no more – now it will be whatever God wants it to be. . . it’s out of my hands.  Once I “Let Go” I can then move on to whatever is in my path to do that day, and no longer waste my time trying to change other people, other things or other events.  Letting go brings me back to the Serenity Prayer, with its message about the futility of trying to change the behavior of others, or whatever is troubling me.  Acceptance of the things I cannot change can bring me serenity.  And yes, it does take courage to change my life, my path and my way of living a life of sobriety. . . but most of all it takes a wisdom to know which “battle to pick.”  I cannot change others, I cannot change the world, I cannot change how others choose to live, I cannot change anything . . . except my own behavior – that is all I can work to change.

Wherever I go, I take the Serenity Prayer with me, its in my head and more importantly, in my heart.  After all, prayer is simply another form of communicating with my Higher Power, God.  I am grateful for this prayer, I am grateful to have God in my life, and I am grateful for my victory over alcohol, one day at a time.

This prayer is for Nicole, who lost her battle with the disease November 2nd, and was taken OFF life support today:

May today there be peace within you.
May you trust your highest power that you are exactly where you are meant to be.
May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith.
May you use those gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that has been given to you.
May you be content knowing you are a child of God.

Let this presence settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to sing and dance, and to bask in the sun, it is there for each and every one of you.

th

