Change is the underlying theme of recovery.  I have heard many a member chuckle at another member stating that there were only three things that needed to be changed in recovery:  “Everything we say, everything we think, and everything we do.”  The good news is that this does not have to be accomplished in a short time, it takes the rest of our lives to make progress when it comes to change.  Change is not something I do perfectly, nor is it something that I will ever master.  But I can and do make progress when it comes to change, and that is part of the recovery process – I try for progress not perfection.

Being of service is one of the “major” changes that has occurred in my life, since I walked through the doors of A.A.  It requires change, constant change.  I cannot give what I do not have.  I cannot work with others, if I am unable to perform the tasks that I require of them.  I must be willing to do whatever is needed to achieve this honorable goal.  As a sponsor I serve as an example of what it means to live by the Spiritual Principles, and the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous.  One Step leads to another, one behavior change leads to another.  There is so much to learn, and much to change in recovery.  Thank goodness we don’t have to “find recovery” in a day.

Photo Courtesy of Soto

Photo Courtesy of Soto

