I firmly believe that awareness is the first step towards change, closely followed by acceptance and action.  That’s my “trilogy” for change.  Awareness tells me that there is a problem, and further helps me to define what that problem is, and how it relates to my life, my “program” and my desire for change.  I came to awareness slowly, as I discounted much of my problems as being the results of  the actions of others, not myself.  When I finally began to see that it was my actions, my behaviors and my erroneous perceptions of life that were causing me problems, I could then search out a solution – I regained some control by this acceptance of “owning” my problems.  My life was in my hands and in God’s hands – not in the hands of the “others.”

Temporary discomfort from awareness tells me “Okay, there is a problem, now what can I do about it?”  I have found in A.A. the solutions that I needed, to make the changes that bring me closer to maturity in my actions and attitude.  I accept that my life is my responsibility – I am an adult, I can trust not only my Higher Power, God, but I can trust myself to know what direction is the “right” one for me.  I need only remain Honest, Open and Willing. . . The “HOW” of A.A.  Together with my Higher Power, God, I can and do find new ways of dealing with old problems.  It’s a “Step” at a time, a day at a time, and a solution at a time. Blessings to you and YOURS on Thanksgiving…and Thank you for the opportunity to serve. This commitment has helped me in more ways than you will ever know~ HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!

History_History_of_Thanksgiving_SF_still_624x352

