Sponsoring, at least in my experience, has shown me just how my own recovery looks.  I share what I have learned, I give what has been given to me, and I remain a faithful friend – someone who cares for others, deeply.  Recovery is a complex process, and lessons come from a variety of sources.  There is the sponsor/sponsee relationship; there is meetings, meetings, meetings; there is the Big Book, literature, slogans, trudge buddies, friends; and there the very special relationship I have found with the God of my understanding.  I believe each of us develops our own “brand” of sponsoring, and it is just as unique as we each are.

I would not be where I am today without the women who have sponsored me.  I work to honor them by sponsoring others the way I was sponsored.  Passing it on, from one to another – that’s the crux of Step Twelve, to carry the message of A.A., “and to practice these principles in all our affairs.”  There are many facets to recovery, sponsorship is just one of them.  I try to remember that a sponsor is no more and no less than just another sober alcoholic – they are not perfect, they struggle too.  Having a sponsor who “has been there and done that” is helpful.  I know where to turn when questions arise, when problems appear, when life challenges me – I turn to God and I turn to my sponsor: a woman after my own heart, I will hear the truth as she understands it – and more than likely the truth as I understand it, as well.

Photo courtesy of Mark S. (Beautiful)

Photo courtesy of Mark S. (Beautiful)

