Old business – it’s still there, it doesn’t go away until I take some action to correct or amend the problem or issue.  There are many old issues in my life that I cannot correct directly.  Instead I make amends in ways that others may see as “nontraditional.”  There are financial amends that I owe to others – but I have no idea where they are or how to get in touch with them.  So I try to add a little extra in the form of financial donations, to A.A. and to other functions in the community where I live.
Yes, I have unfinished business in my life.  It is my fervent hope that my actions today offset some of those old negative actions of days gone by.  The Program knows that easing that burden will help me to grow – emotionally and spiritually.  It’s just like other amends I make – my job is to remain willing, to be as honest as I am capable of at this time in my life, and to remember nothing changes if nothing changes.  I have worked to “clean” my slate, there are some things that will never be corrected, dishonors that will never be honored – but today I am willing to do whatever is needed to make amends to others, and to myself.  My name is at the top of the list called for in Step Eight.  I forgive those who harmed me, and I forgive me for harming others, including myself.  Today I will take some action that speaks to that willingness.
Photo Courtesy of Tom R

Photo Courtesy of Tom R

