I’m one of those people who find it hard to ask for help, but as the years go by my reluctance gives way more readily than it used to. I am capable of talking with another alcoholic about issues with my own family, or my own recovery, and I do reach out to my sponsor when I need to, but I have to admit there have been times of distress when I was so confused that asking for help was the last thing on my “to do” list.  I find that I am still a very head-strong woman, and yet when I look back I can see where my behavior has changed and I am more inclined to ask for help that I was before recovery – there has been some progress.<

I try to readily help others, and I conversely work towards being honest about my own needs, be they material, physical or even spiritual.  I feel truly blessed to be in a position of both helping others, and being strong enough to ask for the help I need, when that is appropriate.  The Program helps me to change and accept the fact of my own limitations, physically.  It also affords me the opportunity to be of service to others in whatever way that demonstrates itself.  I pray that I remain as willing to give help as I am willing to receive help.

help-wanted-sign

