The Fifth Step reads as follows “Admitted to God, to ourselves, and to another human being, the exact nature of our wrongs.”  In reading the Big Book paragraph above it cites ” . . .the exact nature of our defects.”  So it can be surmised that my defects can be classified as those things that are wrong with me.  I struggled to define my character defects, until I spoke with my sponsor who helped me to clearly see what traits I had been harboring for some time, traits that were clearly not in my best interest.  Looking at the opposite behaviors I could see where my shortcomings were impacting my life – particularly when combined with King Alcohol.

I walk a different path today, I am grateful for the path that has brought me to where I am today.  Today I have a true sense of hope and faith.  Today I live my life one day at a time, and take my problems one at a time, as well.  I live and work this Program to the best of my ability. . . not always perfectly, and I thank God for that, as it would be impossible to live a life of perfection – but I can certainly make progress.  Progress, after all, is just another word for action, and action comes from a deep desire to change – and change I have.

images

