The way I see it, it could have gone in several different directions – the fact that I became a member of A.A. and chose a life of recovery is the work of a Higher Power, and no other.  Believing and working Step Three came right after Steps One and Two – which means that I first had to become willing to understand my powerlessness over alcohol, and then I had to search out a Power greater than me.  Making a decision to turn my life and my will over to this Power greater than me, and greater than my disease was not an overnight event – it took time, time, time.  I became willing to rely on my Higher Power fairly early in recovery.  He led me to the tables and the rooms of A.A., and it is there that I found a reason to continue to live – that I might be of service to others, in whatever way that defines itself. Turning my life and my will over to the care of God as I understand Him – that is just the very beginning of understanding acceptance, and willingness.

Photo courtesy of MAGGS

Photo courtesy of MAGGS

