I don’t always like my feelings, but through the Program I have learned that I no longer have to respond to every feeling I have.  I am capable of just feeling the feeling, and then letting it go.  I don’t have to start yelling and screaming at others because I’m angry; I can quietly acknowledge those feelings, try to understand where the feelings are coming from, and express the feelings verbally to others; be they friends, family, or my sponsor.  I am grateful that I can accept my feelings today – without judging whether they are right or wrong, just that they do exist.

There are counter feelings that may help the emotional side of feelings – if I am angry, I can try for feelings of being happy; if I am sad and blue, I can try for feelings of joy by remembering better times or better circumstances than my present situation.  I don’t have to stay with negative feelings forever, I can work towards the positive feelings – and I only have to go as far as my memory will take me.  When was the last time I laughed so hard I cried?  When the last time I felt small, sweet arms hug me?  When was the last time I did something that made me feel good about myself?  For every negative feeling there is a positive action.

yin-yang-symbol-grunge_61-2005

