Joy – a definition: The emotion evoked by well-being, success, or good fortune, or by the prospect of possessing what one desires; delight, gaiety; a state of happiness; to experience great pleasure or delight.

Step Twelve has three different parts to it – first it proclaims that we have had a “spiritual awakening” from working the Steps, then it continues on to our efforts to “carry the message,” and then finally it urges us to “practice these principles in all our affairs.” Now, I have to agree that if all three of these actions are accomplished, that feelings of joyfulness would abound. Carrying the message to others keeps reaffirming those self-same blessings that I have received.

There are so many avenues to joy in the Program, I need only look. I see it in the faces of those around the tables, I read it in the writings and literature of the Program, I hear it in the laughter, and feel it in the hugs of those close to me. The joy of living is certainly available to all who participate in recovery. I am grateful for being able to feel joy in my life, once again.

Photo Courtesy of Tom S

Photo Courtesy of Tom S

