I have found that the concept of “one day at a time” has been a life saver for me, many times. It reminds me that I don’t have to do everything right now, that lifts the pressure off my shoulders and enables me to move forward with “tiny baby steps.” Any progress is progress – and my harshest critic is me. Taking some small action is a form of forward progress – and progress means that I can lighten up on me. After all I’m only human, and can only do one thing at a time, well. Trying to do it all, right now, is impossible and just reinforces my own negative self-image, and failure is right around the corner – or so I believe.

I love the “one day at a time” philosophy of A.A., it really helps me to put my life and my recovery into perspective. I don’t have to do everything right now, I just have to do what’s in front of me to do. I have choices today, and how I handle my life can mean less stress, less chaos, and less tension which leads me to a life of peace, serenity, and calmness that did not exist in my life prior to recovery! HAPPY 2015!!!

happy-new-year1

