I read the Dr’s opinion today as part of my meditation for the New Year…..

I chose to read it today as a reminder that we are beginning a new year, and looking back at our roots is always a good place to start from for those of us who are seeking self-knowledge and understanding. I, for one, will be eternally grateful for “those who have gone on before me.” In looking at my program I can see the changes that have occurred in my life and in my behavior. I am thankful that Dr. Silkworth took the time to write about his perspective and concern with alcoholism. It was not uncommon for alcoholics in that time to be incarcerated and left to die as hopeless cases. Thankfully that is not the case today – now there is the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous which continues to provide the hope and strength to overcome the addiction to alcohol that has been the bane of our existence for years and years. Today, I say thanks to Bill W., Dr. Bob, AND Dr. Silkworth. One day at a time trudgers!!!

sun

