The Recovery Journey

I often say that “I love this Program, and I live this Program.” AA has become an integral part of my life, my friends and associates come from the rooms of AA, my life is a series of AA functions and meetings of varying types. I ALSO have a life outside AA, but AA has given me purpose and direction in life, and I work to “practice what I preach.” Service to the Fellowship is part of my recovery program, and it has been that way for years now. My first sponsor told me once that she could see me being of service in many ways, in the Program. At the time, I did not, but today service to the Fellowship is just as important to me as are meetings. Every day of the week I have some form of recovery planned: sponsee meetings; Fellowship meetings; writing about my experience, strength and hope; and service commitments at Fellowship level. There is hardly a day goes by that I don’t communicate with another alcoholic in some form; be it email, phone calls, text messages, or face to face. As I said, I live this program.

I believe God has a plan for me and service work in some fashion is part of that plan. I work to remain open, and willing to step up when a need arises. God is in charge of my life, everyday, all day long. What a comfort that is. All I need do is suit up and show up, the rest will happen in good time, and at His will. I pray that I may continue to move forward in my recovery, that I continue to work as God wills it and that I remind myself how much better my life is for having come to terms with my alcoholISM.

winding-road-sign