I have been led to the rooms of A.A. for a reason. It is here in the Fellowship of A.A. that I have found what is God’s will for me. It is here in the Program that I have come to understand the disease of alcoholism. A.A. helped me to grasp and hold onto the idea of recovery, and how that can define itself in the Program by working the Steps.

I believe I have been blessed and that I have received grace – because I am sober today, and I no longer live in a world of chaos and unmanageability. I have work to do and I endeavor to fulfill this “commitment” each day. I may not attend a meeting every day, but I do live by the Spiritual Principles, I do work the Twelve Steps of A.A., and I do remain available to meet any request from others in the Program of A.A., whenever possible. I accept that I am powerless over alcohol, and that my life had become unmanageable.

My life has never been the same since coming to the Program. It has changed, just as I have changed. I certainly did not know what lie ahead of me when I took that first, all-important, step into the rooms of A.A. The Program has been a blessing, and I know today that the God of my understanding has been at work in my life, all my life – I just had to “open the door,” the process of change started the minute I took that first step. Step One continues to be the only Step I can “work” perfectly every day, and when I go to bed at night I thank God for one more day of recovery. Upon awakening each day, I admit that I am powerless over alcohol and that my life was unmanageable!

images

