It is what it is – that is the crux of my acceptance – and acceptance is one of my most powerful tools.  Getting into acceptance of whatever or whomever means that I can “table” that “problem,” and instead work on whatever life problem I may be facing.  Coming to a term of acceptance means that I have minimized the problem and can now focus on the “real” issue – the disease of alcoholism, and my resultant behavior.  Acceptance causes me to look within for that underlying fear.  If I am allowing people, places, and things to get in the way of my recovery, it is then time to ask myself the hard questions: Is this person, place or thing affecting my sobriety – to a point of undermining it?  Does this person, place or thing  affect me physically, emotionally, or spiritually?  If I can answer yes to either of those questions, it is then time for me get things into perspective and take care of anything that threatens my life or my recovery. It does no good to bemoan my problems, that does not make them go away, it simply reaffirms that I have them.

Sometimes the hardest problems can be resolved with the easiest solutions, I need only look for them. I can make problems bigger than they need to be, that’s just part of being human and flawed.  I can reclaim my serenity anytime, but I first have to learn to say, “I need some help.”None of us are perfect, this much I do know.  Sometimes I think sitting here in misery is one way of berating myself for being human – time to stop this negative behavior.  On the other side of that is positive behavior, and to that end I will endeavor to take care of me today – physically, mentally, and spiritually.  I will begin right here, right now!

Photo Courtesy of Tom R.

Photo Courtesy of Tom R.

