I used to view feeling good as being a temporary place before the next disaster hit. I was always “waiting for the other shoe to drop,” and most of the time, I was not disappointed. Today, I know that it is my right to feel good. Why not? I’m just as valid as anyone else, why then should I not be entitled to the good feelings I see others enjoying. Good feelings are no longer a “bus stop” on my path to recovery, they can last as long as I allow them to. Granted there will be days of physical discomfort or pain; and there will be emotional upsets with people and life in general – but I don’t have to let those feelings define my life. I can choose to feel good, I can make a decision to rid myself of the “blues,” I can keep on stepping forward in faith and recovery with the hope of change in the future. Nothing has to stay the same – forever. Life is not like that.

Physical pain is a separate issue and if bad enough I need to consult a medical doctor to help with it. Pain will change and lessen in time. It’s not up to me to diagnose myself, I need to involve others. Not feeling good because of pain can be a difficult place to be in, that’s when I need to remind myself that pain is a temporary condition that will pass. Recovery, on the other hand, is a permanent condition as long as I do not drink for these twenty-four hours – which always tells me that feeling good is an option, and one that I choose for this day, this here and this now.

COURTESY OF PAUL(GRIN)

COURTESY OF PAUL(GRIN)

