Recovery requires a daily maintenance, and a rigorous honesty. Have you ever watched the movie “Leaving Las Vegas” with Nicolas Cage and Elizabeth Shue? It was hard for me to watch – but it is a strong message about acceptance. Sometimes with friends the very best we can do is to accept them as they are. I believe we continue to learn from each other – and that can mean learning from our mistakes as well as those things that make us feel good.

Willing participation in my recovery enables me to stay connected to the Program. I know this Program is the reason I am still on this good Earth. I know this Program has brought about a willingness that was never present in my life, before recovery. Staying alive is accomplished by staying sober – for me, to drink again is to die – I have no doubt of that. It is a fact of my life – and I totally accept that reality. I reach out my hand and my heart to my fellow sufferers that we may all find the willingness to survive one more day, one more time. I will focus on just this day and encourage my willingness to remain rigorously honest throughout the day.

Today was a BEAUTIFUL 1st day! If I was drunk, I’m certain I would’ve fallen off the train and been killed. Instead, the God of my understanding has brought me to another journey…..and it is AMAZING!!!

candle-flame-vector-212

