I have to admit to isolating, on occasion.  I allow myself to have a day or two to rest up, emotionally and spiritually.  I have to be diligent with this tendency as it can get out of hand easily.  When I look at my calendar I wonder how I ever have the time to isolate – and that’s a good thing, as I function better when I am involved in my life and in the Program.  The past few days are an example of that. So my isolation is there, but in a limited form.  I try not to let myself vegetate more than a day or two without meetings- I need people in my life, and most of the time I need other women alcoholics in my life.

I love my sponsees who help keep me from isolating, as do my various service positions.  My family is a short distance away and I work towards being part of that group, despite our differences.  I see some people who slide in late to meetings, sit in unobtrusive spots, and slide out as soon as possible.  Fear of rejection was my strongest emotion when I was new to the Program, and I am so thankful for those intrepid members who remembered my name and sought me out after the meetings, just to say “How are you?”  Now, I work to “return the favor” by acknowledging the newcomers, making sure they have phone numbers, and, when appropriate asking for their phone number.  A little encouragement can go a long way with a newcomer.  I shall always remain grateful for those who made me feel so welcomed in those early days.  Isolation can be a retreat from reality, or it can be a respite that enables me to restore my energy so that I may give to others what has been so freely given to me.

Just a little RAILROAD 101 FYI….when you get off an engine, and you don’t need to shut down-you turn it to “ISOLATE”….so it will be ready to go without all the pre trip inspections and such….so, to isolate in this case is positive!!! 🙂

 

WP

Stockton Yard, CA

 

