I am a sponsor and I have a sponsor. I find sponsorship to be a very interesting process, one that teaches both me and the person I’m sponsoring. There is no “right” way to sponsor, it’s as varied and individual as each of us are. The basics, as I understand them, are to help the newcomer work the Steps – but – it is so much more than that. I’m here to answer questions about the Program, I’m here to listen when trouble strikes, I’m here to help another find the right solution to a problem, and I’m here to “educate” others on the history of A.A., and to encourage members to be of service, that the doors remain open to all seeking a way out of the misery that their lives have become.

I used to think that I would not be a good sponsor because I am not “tough” enough – but I have found that being tough on sponsees is simply not my “style,” but that doesn’t mean that I’m not a “good” sponsor, it just means that I sponsor in my own fashion, which, like the way I work my program, is neither good nor bad, it just is. I care deeply for others, and I’m active in the Program; I think these two things are the basis of my sponsorship of others. I have some time as a member of A.A., and some knowledge of the history of A.A., and I have “worked” the Steps many times. I am grateful for each of my sponsees, as they each continue to teach me as we both gain knowledge and insight into ourselves, our program, and our very own unique recovery process. It is my fervent hope and prayer that those I sponsor today will some day sponsor others as we continue our Legacy of Service.

SMB Bookshelf Sepia

This is my actual RECOVERY Bookshelf….♥

 

