I had to give up trying to quit drinking, and come to rely on the Program.  I came to know that I could not do this alone – I needed a “power” greater than me.  I found this power through acceptance and by working to keep an open mind.  It was not about religion, it was about the acceptance that those present in the Program had acquired sobriety through belief that together with the help of the unity of the fellowship and a smidgen of faith, that recovery was and is possible.  I had to “give up” or “surrender” in order to be blessed with recovery.

I am a different person from the one who walked through the doors of A.A.  I have changed over time, the “old me” is not present anymore, instead, a “new me” has been “born.”  Recovery is more than just not drinking, it is a way of living that has given me so much more than I ever anticipated.  Today, my life has purpose and direction; I have a multitude of friends and have reconnected with my family; I have found a way to live, sober; I am truly blessed beyond measure – as it is said in the Program, there is only one thing I need to change in recovery, and that is everything: everything I say, everything I do and everything I am.  The Program gives me the tools to do this, and for all that I remain grateful.

images

 

 

 

