I have made both good choices and bad ones. And it is true that all of these choices were mine regardless of the influence of others in my life. Parents, siblings, husbands, children, and friends have all had an “opinion” or two of what I “should” do. . . but, ultimately the decision and choices were mine. It’s always easy to look back and justify my decisions and choices, in retrospect. But the truth of the matter is that I made some choices that definitely harmed me and others, in many ways. Some of my decisions were based on the opinion of others in my life – and there were times when I choose to do the opposite of what others thought I should do, simply because of who was advising me. I was very rebellious, particularly in my youth.

I LOVE AA’s responsibility statement “I am responsible when anyone, anywhere, reaches out for help, I want the hand of A.A. always to be there, and for that I am responsible.” Which means that I work towards that goal by stepping up for service above and beyond my immediate needs and desires. But my first obligation is towards myself, so that I may have the strength and means to help others, when and where needed. Whatever I share with others, I pray that it is passed on to still others – from member to member. That’s the way this Program works – and today I work towards accepting responsibility for my choices, that I might then pass on to others what I have been blessed to learn.

praying-hands

