I have had moments and times of discouragement in recovery, I believe that others experience these same feelings, as well.  The difference between how I handle those feelings now, as compared as to how I used to handle them is just about one hundred percent opposite.  It was, at one time, the perfect excuse to say “to hell with it,” which I did most of the time, and that was followed with a bout of drinking, after all I didn’t have to answer to anyone, I could do as I damn well please.  Who needs (it, whatever “it” was at that moment) anyway?  I was good at starting things – but my ability to finish anything was sorely lacking.  If I became even just a little discouraged I would “throw in the towel!”

Hope is always there for me – it was there that first time I went to a meeting, and it continues to be there for me, daily.  Hope tells discouragement to move on down the road, that this place, this time is not where discouragement is welcomed.    Our Serenity Prayer talks about having the “courage to change the things I can” which calls for determination and confidence – and these two are the antithesis of discouragement.  One thing I know for sure, my Higher Power, God, is always there for me.  Should I ever get discouraged all I need do is ask the God of my understanding for help – and it will come, sometimes in ways that are quite a surprise to me.  I particularly liked the part of the quote that stated: “May I always remember that the power within me is far greater that any fear before me.”

456

