Step Three was a puzzle for me, for quite a long spell of time. Most of the time, for me, turning my will over to the care of God meant not doing what I had been doing prior to recovery. My self-will was strong and bull-headed – and it was not something I was willing to give up so readily. I thought that my self-will was what had kept me alive so far. I did not give God credit for that feat, I took the credit. Giving up, or turning over my will to the care of my God was a process for me. First, I had to accept the idea that my will had not kept me safe from harm. Secondly, I had to accept the idea that my will was not working for me, any longer – if it ever had been.

Eventually I came to a place of surrender, a willingness to believe in a Higher Power, a power I came to call God. I found that I did not have to fight the battle of the booze alone, that my life was better for having God in it. God calls me to a “higher path” which has enabled me rise above the misery and pain of my yesterdays. There truly was a sense of peace and calm that came with my surrender. It was okay for me to “turn it over,” it was okay for me to Let Go and Let God, and it was okay for me to place myself in God’s good hands – He is there for me whenever I venture forth into the realm of the unknown. My part is to remain open, willing and humble before this God of my understanding.

3637565583_9f0f1fc7e4

