I know people in the Program who are constantly complaining about something, who seem to focus on what was wrong with their day, without any mention of what was right with their day. I get discouraged just listening to them. I know there are challenges and problems in life, but, conversely there are good things going on, as well. It seems to lead right back to the old statement of “You’d drink too if you had my life.” I mean what’s the point of recovery if it’s a miserable existence – or at least it sounds that way.

Yes, there are problems in life, going through some as we speak, and I’m am by NO MEANS complaining…but I can choose to be positive about my life and my recovery. I will find what I look for – and if I have made an attempt at being positive, by day’s end I can give myself credit for that. I can get out of “self” and work to help others, instead of just reiterating a constant stream of complaints. I got sober in the hope of feeling better about myself and my life – and I do. It’s hard to be around people who have nothing good to say about life. No, my life is not perfect, I still have problems – but – and that’s a big but – there is much in my life for me to be grateful for. To begin with, I am grateful to be sober, I am grateful for the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous, and I am grateful for the changes in my life – despite my issues and problems, I prefer this life today as compared to what my life used to look like. Dear God, help me to remain positive in both word and deed. Help me to look for and find all the goodness in others and myself.

A pic for my KIWI Friends!!

A pic for my KIWI Friends!!

