In the Big Book, the chapter entitled “There is a Solution” I find “We have found much of heaven and we have been rocketed into a fourth dimension of existence of which we had not even dreamed.” That’s on page 25 and well worth reading and re-reading. My life has been totally changed from the way it was. I find my behavior has changed, my view of life has changed, and my attitude has done a U-turn. I no longer hold others responsible for my happiness, my well-being, I am responsible for me – bottom line. This “new dimension” finds my life transformed from one of anger, resentment, dishonesty, pride, jealousy, and full of self-pity. I am no longer just another victim of a cruel world. I am responsible for me, for my recovery, and for my serenity and growth. My life is not governed by my alcoholism, now it is governed by a loving God of my understanding. I have a “spiritual tool kit” that helps me to change not only my behavior, but my attitude, as well. I came to the tables a victim and today I know that to be untrue – I am responsible for me.

I have continued to grow and change, to evolve into the person I see in the mirror today – a grown, responsible woman who cares deeply for others and one who believes strongly in the love of and power of God. Whatever others call this “miracle,” for me, it is nothing short of a miraculous change than has no earthly explanation. My transformation is based in the spiritual, I have absolutely no doubt of that. Gratitude to AA is only the beginning of my thankfulness, it is extended to everyone who has touched my life in recovery, and to all those that continue to serve as examples of what true sobriety and recovery can look like. I am blessed beyond measure.
24

