From the Big Book: We realize we know only a little. God will constantly disclose more to you and to us. Ask Him in your morning meditation what you can do each day for the person who is still sick. The answers will come, if your own house is in order. But obviously you cannot transmit something you haven’t got. See to it that your relationship with Him is right, and great events will come to pass for you and countless others. This is the Great Fact for us.
-Alcoholics Anonymous, p. 164

I know that I will not live long enough to learn everything I want/need to know. Life is a continual learning process. What I gain and pass on in knowledge of the disease of alcoholism, and how to live with addictive behaviors – will live beyond my life. It will live in the hearts and minds of others whom I have shared this journey with. It’s like dropping a pebble in a pool, the effect spreads out from where the pebble entered the water. What I pass on to others through group discussions, through one-on-one conversations, and through the heart-felt similarities we find in others, will continue as it is passed down from one to the other. Those of us in the Program share the “language of the heart” and from there we relate our experiences before and after recovery. I truly find it amazing that even after all the years of my sobriety, that there is much I do not know, and it is my fervent hope to continue to learn as time passes.

Normal, everyday joys are ours for the taking. Many of us find joy every day, in the simple things – like the flowers in bloom right now. All of us share this “Road to a Happy Destiny,” because of the love of a Higher Power and the Grace to carry on.
name-tag-11

