Control is truly an illusion. I cannot control other people, I cannot control the events in my life, and I certainly cannot control the World. What I can control are my actions, my reactions and my behaviors – right here, right now. Life continues to happen, despite my efforts to control it and events occur that are not within my reach. In Al-Anon, I have heard it said that “You didn’t cause it, you can’t control it, and you didn’t create it…or something to that effect!” I may not have that word for word, but the idea is there. My influence on others is, and always has been, severely limited. I can only “suggest” solutions, I can only relate what my experience has been, and I can only experience change at a personal level.

My life gets out of control because I have this “need” to fill the hours of my day with purpose and direction. I forget to give myself some “down time.” So the unmanageability factor does come into play, and then I need to stop and take a look at what I’m doing, where I’m going, and see just exactly what my goals are – what am I trying to achieve? My first obligation is to take care of me – however that is defined. My second obligation is to take care of my commitments – and to back off when my plate gets too full. So time for reflection is needed, time for communion with my Higher Power is absolutely needed, and time for my own program of change and growth is another essential part of my “control.” When I work on me, I’m better prepared to help others who are striving for the same goal of SOBRIETY!!!! Thank goodness I only have to live this life one day at a time . . . ♥♥♥
1763573_orig

