Meetings seem to have a life of their own. Some are big with 20 or 30 people in attendance, while other meetings are small, with 3 or 4 people around the tables. What makes a “good” meeting? Well for me, it’s who I see, what I hear, and the simple fact that I always feel better after attending a meeting. I feel that special connection I have with my fellow travelers on this road to a happy destiny. I hear something that I have not thought of before, some phrase, some words from the Big Book take on a new meaning through the share of another, I hear others share their pain and their excitement at being sober right here, right now.

I try to speak from my heart. I relate what my experience has been in recovery and what my life was like before A.A. If I am in the process of working on a problem, I try to relate how the Steps are guiding me to a good solution. I relate the basics of Keep Coming Back and how important meetings are. Whatever the situation, I work to speak truthfully, always mindful of the newcomer in the rooms. Modesty is not my strong suit, and I love the fact that I can share my joy, my happiness, and my sobriety with others. It is the basic premise of the Program – when we share we never know who may benefit from that. After all one alcoholic helping another is what this Program is all about.
pro

