Great discussion today trudgers….we can do that!!! Isn’t it AMAZING???

I am learning to be social without the chaos of drinking. I’ve heard many members say that they thought that having fun was a thing of the past, once they gave up drinking. Isn’t it odd that we tend to think of ourselves as having fun, when the truth of the matter is we often created problems when we drank, woke up feeling absolutely miserable, with a killer hangover and empty pockets. Where’s the enjoyment in that? I have come to realize that I needed to find new ways of enjoying myself – this is very important in view of recovery. It’s not the end of pleasure because we no longer drink, it’s really the beginning of learning new ways and means of having fun – without all the headaches, literally and figuratively.

I need to learn how to make friends, and I am learning that to have friends I need to be a friend. There are many ways of enjoying my recovery, and the longer I’m sober, the more ways I find of feeling good. I believe that I will be more inclined to remain sober if my life is enjoyable. I didn’t get sober to be miserable – I no longer have to struggle with life and all the problems that resulted from my alcoholism – today I can continue to grow and change, and even enjoy myself!!
images

