It’s all about having faith, faith in God and faith in the Program. It’s about letting go of doubt and worry, and accepting that whatever events come to pass, there is a reason behind them. God has a plan for me, I may not know it, but I will – in time. In the meantime it is my job to just keep putting one foot in front of the other, making whatever progress there is to make, regardless of the outcome. There are tasks to be done, and friends and family that can use my help. It’s about getting out of self and into helping others – whoever others might be. If I want to feel better about my life, I have to participate in my program of recovery, every day and in whatever way I can.

So the moral of this “story” is the more willing I become, the better I will feel. Action fosters positive feelings. Some things are so simple, and yet so elusive at times. If the “blues” hit me I will take the time to make a list of things I can do to make me feel better – and I will begin doing them, one at a time. Just like the program urges me to do. Alcoholics Anonymous is a program of action – it does no good to just think about the changes I need in my life, it takes action to make those changes – and when things change, so do my feelings about them. I trust in God, I trust in the Program and I trust in the process we call recovery.
images

