Anytime the word “responsibility” comes to me, I am always reminded of the “Responsibility Statement” that is used in the Program – which reads, as follows: “I Am Responsible . . . when anyone, anywhere, reaches out for help, I want the hand of A.A. always to be there. And for that: I am responsible.” Which, while important, refers more to the responsibility of members toward the “business end” of the Program, and is not the same as self-responsibility. Self-responsibility begins and ends with me. However, I also understand how others have a true sense of being responsible for others, particularly their young children.

I think the most responsible thing I can do when it comes to my family is to help them find their own path to being responsible for themselves. I also believe it is the most important job I have as a parent; to teach my child to be independent of me. When that happens I can then focus my attention on my recovery. I have learned that it is a better practice to learn to take care of myself, without relying on anyone else. It’s all about “growing up” and accepting the idea that we are each responsible for our own recovery, our own lives and our own happiness.
pro

