Individuality can be both a blessing and a bane. For myself, it repeatedly caused me problems as I refused to do things any other way but my way, even when I could see that my way was not working for me. I was very stubborn about things and did not take the advice of others readily. I was always sure that if people around me would straighten up, most of my problems would go away. It was always easier to blame others for the condition of my life, than it was to hold myself accountable. This pattern repeated itself, time after time.

Recovery has taught me many lessons about living life. I think the most important lesson I have learned is that my life is in the hands of my Higher Power, and is dependent on my own behavior and actions. I am responsible for me. With the help of God and the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous I now live a life that is full, rich, and far above the days of old. My view of the world has changed. I have “grown up,” I have come to the realization that I am responsible for me. I have stopped comparing myself to others, we are each individual and live our lives as such. I am grateful to open my mind and my heart to others – that I shall continue to learn from them all. My life today is limitless!!!
aa_symbol

