When I thought of God as a ‘higher power’ it was easier to believe the A.A. concept of a Higher Power. I could see the results of believing in this power in the faces and stories of those in the rooms of A.A. There was “something” that enabled myself and others to stop drinking, and it was a power that was greater than me, and greater than King Alcohol. I needed to only listen to the shares and stories of those present to hear, time and again, of the blessing of sobriety. It became apparent that it was easier to stop drinking when I was not drinking. That may sound a bit weird, but bear with me. When I was drinking, literally, I lost the ability to stop . . . and drank as much as I could, as fast as I could. . . . until I either passed out or ran out of booze. When I was not drinking, like the next morning, it was easier to swear off booze (once again) . . . at least for the moment . . . until the next time.

At first, I was unsure of the idea of a Higher Power and a member told me to think of the group as a Higher Power, because the others in the rooms were sober and many of them were sober for a long time. The Program had worked for them, and I began to feel that it could work for me, also. The idea of a “higher” “power” was a new concept for me. A “higher” power meant that it was stronger than me, stronger than my disease, and stronger than my will. “Power” meant that I could expect help in the way of strengthening my resolve to stay sober, that I could claim the power not to drink. That was just what I needed – a more powerful helpmate. That was my initial God, and from there to where I am today has been a spiritual journey unlike anything I ever expected. I accept God as a power greater than me, greater than the disease of alcoholism, and greater than my worst nightmare. I have come to know and accept that there is a power in the Universe which overrides all my expectations and beliefs. It gives me strength, gives me willingness, and gives me hope – hope that has transformed me from being a skeptic to being a true believer.

OH YES…..GO WARRIORS (GOLDEN STATE, THAT IS..LOL)

It's been 2 yrs FOLKS!!! WOO HOO

It’s been 2 yrs FOLKS!!! WOO HOO

