“This too shall pass.” A phrase I use when I’m having one of those “bad days.” Not every day of my life is “wonderful,” but I recognize that every day of my life since beginning the process of recovery is better than the days of using and abusing. I also recognize the fact that nothing in my life can happen that a drink won’t make worse. The only thing I know to do is to “hunker down” and get through that bad day, a step at a time. One of the first things I try to do is to involve others – it just flat helps to have someone I can turn to, to talk with, to reaffirm my self-worth, and to remind myself that while life will never be perfect, most of my days are good ones. Days when I feel “up,” when I feel blessed, when I feel good about where I am, and who I am.

Bad days happen – at least they do in my life. But I no longer have to stay stuck there for days on end, through the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous, I am learning that taking some action can change my feelings. I can work to help myself feel better. I know, through A.A., that bad days will not last forever – and that even with bad days I am still making good progress in my recovery. Life can challenge me, but today I have “tools” to help me with those challenges. And if I can’t think of anything to do – I get out that telephone list and start dialing, there is bound to be someone on the other end of the line who can relate to having a bad day. But even my worst days are not the days of old, when I would wake up feeling absolutely sick – sick to stomach, sick with a headache, sick in my very soul – knowing that one more time John Barleycorn got the better of me. My “bad” days compared to those days are really “good” days. Remembering where I came from and where I’m at can perk up any day. I live a better life today – thanks to the Program, thanks to friends and family, and – as always – Thanks, God
pro

