I never considered that fact of change when I first came into the Program, I, like others, thought it was simply a matter of stopping the drinking – but as I have learned not drinking is only but a beginning. The changes that have occurred in my recovery have been truly remarkable. Thanks to our forefathers and the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous, I enjoy and live a life unlike anything I ever expected.

Humility takes time – at least it has been my experience. First off, understanding what it means to be humble has been made clearer from working the Steps and participating in my personal recovery program. I am not the center of the universe, I am not “all that and a bag of chips.” I am merely a child of God, one of His chosen ones, and He wants what’s best for me, always. Accepting a “power greater than me” was but a beginning of this path that I have been on for the past years. Turning my life over to the care of God, as I understand Him, has brought me to a place of change, a place of growth – a place of peace and comfort. Having humility has brought me to a place of personal acceptance, of “New Frontiers.” Put simply – I love A.A. and it is my prayer and hope that I will continue to be humble enough to accept a power greater than me, and greater than my disease.
images

