AA tells us we must find a higher power to be able to work the steps and develop a fit, spiritual condition. Mine is Mother Nature. This was the sky soon after my Fordys dad died. It seemed like the heavens were quietly but gloriously welcoming him with open arms, and with the lights on!!

I’ve also heard that sighting a cardinal is a spiritual sign of a lost one. I haven’t seen a cardinal in years!! Last night, Fordy’s sister, Ame, said “Maggie, a cardinal!!” While pointing out to the deck and sure enough, there was a beautiful, bright, red one- and for me, it was a sign of Fordy taking his dad’s energy and incorporating it into his, his families, whatever it is that happens after death!!

Without the steps of AA and having sponsors and friends and using these wonderful tools to deal with life on life’s terms, this week would have found me a bitter, dry drunk, or, a wicked drunk!
Namaste.

Photo courtesy of Maggs!

Photo courtesy of Maggs!

