AA has dragged me out of the predicting business. I used to spend endless hours analyzing all the facts to determine the likely outcome of every dilemma in my own life and in the lives of those around me. Despite my large rate of error, I was convinced of my ability to divine and prophesy the future. Especially when it came to my fears and worries, I always concluded that the worst case scenario was a credible threat. By working the Program, I have witnessed many developments that I never would have expected. I thought that sobriety would involve a constant state of craving, lessening over time, but ever present and permanent. In reality, my obsession with alcohol and drugs went away after a few short months, never to return in any significant form. I thought that meetings would be a burden, but they became my sanctuary, someplace I eagerly went. I thought that humility would make me boring and ineffective, but it did not. I thought I would be embarrassed being a member of AA, but in fact I was very proud of my affiliation. I thought that working with others would take up too much precious time. It turned out that working with others gave me so much benefit that it multiplied my ability to use my time effectively. Today I know that a heavy darkened sky is a temporary state. I know that the sun still shines overhead, and if I closely observe and stop trying to postulate, its rays may come bursting through at any moment.

Photo courtesy of Maggs!

Photo courtesy of Maggs!

