(In the coming days, I will be asking all you prayer WARRIORS to send out healing next week. If you might think good thoughts for God’s will in all things-both for me, and another, that would be AMAZING!!!)

Working the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous and hearing the experience of other alcoholics have taught me to see things in a deeper way than ever before. So many things I did in the drinking days were done quickly and with little pause or internal debate. I prided myself on being swift and decisive. Pondering was for the weak and waffling. In reality, I was constantly making snap decisions based on insufficient evidence. I judged every situation by my initial reaction to it, and I rarely questioned that first impression. I did not ever stop and say “I wonder what’s really going on here.” If someone acted badly, he was a jerk – it was as simple as that. Having taken the Steps of AA as recommended, I have learned that people can be like onions, with many layers to peel and understand. Lashing out is often a symptom of fear rather than aggression. Apathy can mask sorrow and so many other emotions present themselves in disguise. Today I am still prone to jumping to conclusions, and sometimes I have little patience for pondering and thoughtful examination. Such measured responses to life are not second nature to me. But their rewards have manifested so many times that I cannot deny the benefit of working toward them. AA has given me new pair of glasses, but also a microscope. I no longer just glance. I have learned to look closely and to really see.

Photo courtesy of AinV

Photo courtesy of AinV

